Ranch Chips

I am so excited to share that my first time making homemade ranch corn tortilla chips went AHHH-MAZING! I may never eat another chip brand again, seriously. Now without further ado, the recipe.

Ingredients

3 Corn Tortillas

1/3 Ranch packet

2 TBS of Canola oil

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350°F

2. Stack corn tortillas together and cut into 6 equal pieces using a pizza cutter

3. Grab a baking sheet and line it with foil (I did this backwards and cut up my original piece of foil, brain fog)

4. Arrange the 18 individual triangles where no sides are touching

5. Combine ranch and oil in small mixing bowl and whisk with fork

6. Lightly brush (gently fork if you don’t have a fancy brush like me) the mixture on to each side of the triangles

7. Place on middle rack of oven and bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are browning

That is it and the best part is the NUTRITION facts!

My Ranch Corn Chips

18 Chips

120 Calories

15mg Sodium

24g Carbs

3g Protein

VS

Tostitos Yellow Corn Chips

14 Chips

150 Calories

110mg Sodium

17g Carbs

2g Protein

Now for me, as a corn chip addict, discovering my skills in the kitchen (for the first time in 6 months) by creating the perfect chip makes today, BEST DAY EVER. I can now eat my chicken nachos guilt free, life is good.

Also, if you don’t like Ranch you could do plain or sea salt with the oil. Since I have a salt restriction but I wanted flavor, the ranch packet was the obvious choice when I couldn’t find sea salt. Making these chips was fairly easy but still an intense workout for my right hand, which has complex regional pain syndrome. It’s really hurting now, obviously, but I have no regrets.

Posted in Now

One thought on “Ranch Chips

  1. I’m going to try these. I never thought about doing this. It sounds like my moms crack crackers. They have red pepper in them, but I couldn’t eat them because of the wheat. I guess I know what I’m doing this weekend.

    Like

Leave a comment