Worth The Wait

September 26, 2006

Tears fill my eyes when I think of the past and about how things used to be. When we spent all day together and stayed up late at night making our memory box. Now I’m lucky to get five minutes of your time and our late night talks are just fading memories. I wish things could go back to the way they used to be but I guess this is just what happens when you grow apart from your best friend.

_

Two Months after getting diagnosed with ARVD/C and getting my first defibrillator, my best friend was putting distance between us. I thought she was such a wonderful person and friend, but when I needed her, she wasn’t there.

She wasn’t my first best friend to let me down, but she did hurt me the most and in my difficult teen years. I was never bullied in the traditional sense, nothing ever obvious or public. Instead, I got to learn painfully over time that people I called friend were actually foe.

The most recent feeling of let down occurred after my injury in November 2016. Since my illness took the most vicious downturn, I’ve learned once again who was willing to be there for me and who wasn’t. Which is why I am now getting married next October.

When I was a little girl I dreamed of meeting prince charming. Then as a teen, I just hoped a boy would like me even though I was damaged, my heart disease had ruined me. However, during my young adult years, I really learned how to love myself, which is when I began praying God for the right man.

Dillon and I had only been dating a year when I became injured and my health continued to decline. I told him so many times that it was okay if he wanted to break up with me, and every time he told me to stop being ridiculous. He stuck by me and pushed me, when so many would have ran away. Leaving me would have been the easy choice but Dillon didn’t want any part of it.

So if your best friend has let you down, made you feel worthless or anything except amazing – you are better off without them. A true best friend is there when life is hard, they pick you up when you fall, not laugh and walk away. If you haven’t found your ride or die yet, don’t worry, it took me 23 years but it was worth the wait.

 

Posted in Now

Leave a comment